No shame when away from home – 旅の恥はかき捨て

shame-on-trip

photo credit: michelangelo_84 Blinding lights via photopin (license)

旅の恥はかき捨て

– Old proverb

How to pronounce: Tabi No Haji Wa Kakisute

Literal translation: When travelling, shame should be thrown away.

Meaning: The similar saying in English might be “A man away from home need feel no shame”. This could be used when you want to encourage someone to try something exciting or new, while it is seen a bit shameful in an usual situation.


I was a bit away from business trip for a while and today was the first day to go to my office in more than two weeks. I felt a bit awkward in the morning but soon it turned out to be very usual.
This really says that I’m very much used to the current work, and could further trigger to think of going to the next steps. I have things I want to do at the current environment, and thus the change wouldn’t happen immediately, but I strongly feel that the time for the change is coming close. Let’s see while doing my best.
Oops, sorry it seems nothing related to the proverb today!

***

How was today’s proverb? Hope you enjoy and have a nice day!

Please subscribe:

Feedly: follow us in feedly / RSS: RSS Feed / Facebook: facebook icon / Twitter: twitter icon

You might also like: